April 1, 2023

Lakeview Gazette

Complete News World

OAS Assembly: Argentina, Brazil and Mexico do not support Vladimir Putin’s declaration rejecting Ukraine invasion.

A general view of one of the meetings during the OAS General Assembly in Lina (REUTERS).

Brazil, Mexico and Argentina Not in the middle 24 countries Americans who signed the Declaration of Support Ukraine Due to the Russian invasion and Condemns MoscowIt was read Thursday during the annual meeting OAS in Lima.

Document, appreciated AmericaProvided by Guatemala In the plenary session of the 52nd General Assembly of the Organization of American States, the highest political body of the regional bloc. But though it was read during the forum, it was not the end of the assembly.

Entitled “Continued support for an end to Russian aggression in Ukraine”, the text announces “renewed and strong condemnation of the illegal, unjustified and unprovoked invasion of Ukraine”.

Additionally, it points out that “Great concern about the indifference and contempt of the Russian Federation The OAS has called for the withdrawal of its military forces from Ukraine within internationally recognized borders.

He also calls Russia “Stop the feud Withdraw its military forces from Ukraine within internationally recognized borders.

US Secretary of State, Antony Blink, congratulated the adoption of the declaration on Thursday at the OAS plenary. “It is very important that we are united We condemn the rigged elections in Russia “We will unequivocally reject any attempt to illegally annex Ukrainian territory as a violation of international law,” Blinken said.

And he added: “We hope that these countries will also support the resolution on the matter expected in the UN General Assembly.” “In the coming weeks”.

See also  Total snub!: Prince William and Kate Middleton did not attend Carlos III's first Christmas party: Here are the reasons | Critical Voices - Salta

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, United States of America, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Suriname signed this declaration. St. Kitts and Snows, St. Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago and Uruguay.

We reiterate the urgent need to end this invasion and find a peaceful solution (…) We cannot tolerate the intolerable, and we cannot tolerate the war that has affected us all so much,” said Guatemalan Foreign Minister Mario Bucaro, presenting the document.

The OAS Annual Assembly opened on Wednesday with a video address by Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky. He urged the American nations to support his country against Russian invasion.

The OAS has already called for an end to possible “war crimes” in Ukraine in March and April.

(With information from AFP)

Continue reading: